Thank You, Community Leaders

Congratulations to AgeWays’ six leadership award winners this year, the agency’s 50th year serving older adults!

The leadership awards recognize individuals and organizations for their efforts in promoting the health and well-being of older adults.  They were presented at our Annual Community Meeting earlier this month.

Sandra K. Reminga Lifetime Achievement Award

Jim McGuire (above), who retired from AgeWays Nonprofit Senior Services after 36 years leading our planning and advocacy department, received the Sandra K. Reminga Lifetime Achievement Award, named for the agency’s first CEO.

Jim is responsible for some of Michigan’s most enduring programs for older adults. He founded the Interfaith Volunteer Program and the Silver Key Initiative, a coalition of statewide aging-network organizations that advocate for more funds for home-based services. His efforts have been in service of helping people to age in place.

Public Service Leadership Award

Senator Jeff Irwin (D-Ann Arbor) received the Public Service Leadership Award for championing higher wages for the direct care workforce and his ongoing support of policies and initiatives to enhance the lives of older adults.




Silver Key Award

The Oakland County S.A.V.E. Task Force received the Silver Key Award for its leadership in raising awareness of elder abuse and its commitment to education and advocacy on behalf of older adults. Members of the task force include Oakland County Commissioners Penny Luebs, Kristen Nelson and Phil Weipert and Farmington Hills Mayor Theresa Rich. Pictured are Commissioner Weipert, Mayor Rich,  Commissioner Nelson, and AgeWays’ Stephanie Hall.



Service Provider Leadership Award

Western Oakland Meals on Wheels received the Service Provider Leadership Award for its nimbleness in expanding its service region during a contract transition. The organization expertly took on meal preparation and delivery of homebound meals in a large part of Oakland County. Pictured is Bridget Ajemian, program director.




Community Leadership Award

The Michigan Health Endowment Fund received the Community Leadership Award for its commitment to and support of innovative programming to enhance the lives of older adults and family caregivers. MHEF has provided grants to AgeWays to fund critical programs, including our new Respite Voucher Program for family caregivers. The program provides funds for families to cover temporary care when they need a break. Pictured are MHEF staffers Kari Sederburg, Tim Niyonsenga, Neel Hajra, and Phil Lewis.



Volunteer Leadership Award

Justine Bykowski of Ann Arbor received the Volunteer Leadership Award for her work as a volunteer in our Caregiver Coaching Program. Since becoming one of its first coaches, Justine has guided numerous caregivers through the challenges of their roles with empathy and expertise. She has created a safe and nurturing space within the program, providing caregivers with the support they need when facing the pressures of their caregiving responsibilities. Justine has also been a tireless advocate for state-wide housing initiatives aimed at seniors.

Justine is retired from Michigan Medicine, where she specialized in adult education and gerontology.